Skip to content

Nest This

3 August 2010

Oh god, the nesting.

A combination of watching the episode where Bethenny brings home her baby, reading months worth of posts on my new favorite bloggy, Shannanigans, which is written by a woman who is literally ready to burst, and THEN reading the extremely exciting news that A + J of One Cat Per Person have enrolled in this course, and I am officially ready to be “with child”.

Okay, maybe ready isn’t the right word, but I want to be ready.

Yesterday afternoon after work, I began to tend to my nesting tendancies.  I’m sure I’ll get plenty of opportunities with the new house, but in the meantime (only 8 days to go!), I first bought some Christmas gifts.  I know, I’m extremely neurotic.  I actually began my shopping and planning probably around April of this year.  It always makes me feel good to buy gifts.

Then I went to the thrift store, scouring the rows for a chandelier to pretty up for my new craft room*, kind of like this:

Though I didn’t find one, I’m going to keep checking Craigslist before folding and buying a cheap one from Walmart to redo.  I’d rather my chandelier have a bit of history, even if I don’t know what it is.

I also finally found some old wooden salt and pepper shakers, that I hope to transform into something like these:

…a la the tutorial by Heart of Light.  I still need to determine what our dining room color palatte will be, first, and that’s way down the list of construction projects for the new house, so it’ll be a while yet for these bad boys.

I also got a matching laundry basket for the one I already had.  I figured we’d need another since we’ll have a whole house to fill up with J’s rogue socks and layers of t-shirts.  It’s amazing how much space his clothes take up compared to mine.

And since it was a Monday, my two items were 25% off.  I spent a total of $4.16.  Pretty sweet, huh?

Then I went to the grocery store to buy some ingredients for a tasty dinner – something I NEVER do.  We had a cooked chicken, gravy (mmmm), corn, steamed broccoli, and mashed potatoes (okay, they were instant, I’ll admit).  Delicious.

I worked on said Christmas gifts (which are DIY, of course!), and then watched some Gossip Girl (addicted! Season One, what what), before falling asleep.  Despite some twinges of depression** and a few snaps at J about some overly expensive appliances we’re considering, I’d say all in all it was a good night.  And I’m that much closer to being ready for a little bean of my own!

*J’s the sweetest.  He’s giving me a whole ROOM for my crap crafts.  We always agreed I needed a dedicated space, but it’s a bit different when you find a home with three bedrooms and then need to concede one to a craft room – of all things.  Then again, I don’t see the sense in wasting a whole room on guests which will likely never come.  So, another reason why I love him.

**The yoosh.  Nothing new here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 3 August 2010 10:55 am

    I think you’d love the Purposeful Conception course. I haven’t done much research into the baby planning thing and it’s so helpful for me. It allows me to confront some things that I have ignored for a long time now (health/finances/etc.). I really like it. We did our first assignment together last night and uh, it was so surreal… we sat in front of my laptop just reading and then began to talk about pregnancy like a tangible, real thing. Not this, “Oh! Babies are so cute! Let’s make one!” Haha!

    I’m not even pregnant and I think the most beautiful thing about it is when you realize your body isn’t just yours anymore. I think I’m slowly coming to that understanding. It’s wild!

    The Youngsters better watch out for you!

  2. 3 August 2010 10:57 am

    I can’t IMAGINE thinking of it as a real thing. Because I’m absolutely still in the phase of “oh, let’s dress it up! let’s name it something cute and give it an even cuter nickname!”.

    But I remember one time when I was worried that I was pregnant, I felt really strange. Probably mostly because I didn’t WANT to be pregnant. But my thought was, “ew. there’s an alien growing inside me”. Ha!

Trackbacks

  1. What’s Cookin «
  2. Yule Aight Up Mile Eiff* «

Leave a Reply

