Skip to content

The Weekend Wrap-Up

21 June 2010

This weekend wasn’t too eventful, just the way I like it:

{} Friday J and I went to play miniature golf at the miniature golf course we both grew up playing on.  Though we didn’t meet until 3 and a half years ago, our childhoods had a lot of things in common.  It was fun to compare memories and laugh at how rundown it’s become.

By the way, I got a hole in one on the first hole.  And then when J got his first hole in one, I followed up with one as well!  Tally: 2, B. 1, J.

By the way #2, is it typical for people to play miniature golf when they’re home, not on vacation?  It occurred to me this weekend that maybe it’s not.

{} Saturday we lounged around D’s pool and spent the afternoon eating.  It was just like I want all my summer Saturdays to be.

{} Saturday night J and I went to my dad’s for a father’s day celebration.  A tasty dinner and some lightning bug viewing finished out the night.

{} Sunday J went to hang out with his dad while I lounged around the house.  It was nice to be alone in a quiet house and watch bad tv.

Notice I didn’t mention any houses for this week’s weekend wrap-up?  That’s because we’ve decided to really hone in on one particular neighborhood, making our ongoing search more of a sit-and-wait.  Though I must say, I do find comfort knowing that we know exactly what we want.  No more driving around for four and a half hours on a gloomy Saturday getting frustrated that we can’t afford anything/don’t like the area/why is it so rundown?/where are we? feelings*.

We also determined that our little loan snafu that might have held us up until a January 2011 purchasing date really doesn’t affect us anymore.  Now we can be free to wait until January 2011 if we so choose – or buy earlier, which I hope for!

Totally unrelated, I’m going to add a shameless plug for the first Treasury East I’ve ever created on etsy!  The way it works is that you visit the link and click on each item’s thumbnail.  The more clicks and visitors and commenters the treasury gets, the greater the likelihood that my treasury (this specific set of items I’ve selected from other sellers) makes it to the front page of etsy.  Obviously the front page means A TON more viewers for these sellers.  I’ve made it there once, and now I’d like to return the favor to some other etsians.  Does that make sense?  It’s kind of hard to explain.  My theme for this treasury: summer sherbert.  Yum.

So click through the items if you’d like!  You don’t have to be a member of etsy to participate.  Thanks!

—–

*I don’t like change.  In fact, I hate it.  So when we visited new (to us) towns, I immediately felt uncomfortable.  Like get-me-out-of-here-now, let’s-go-home uncomfortable.  Choosing a neighborhood that I’m extremely comfortable with makes the waiting much more bearable.  Oh, and did I mention that the neighborhood we’ve chosen is within 15 minutes or so of both of our jobs?  Double score.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

