Skip to content

Stockroll

18 June 2010
tags:

I thought it might be fun/depressing to track the companies that I should own stock in because of all the purchasing I do with them.  Here goes.  And feel free to add some of yours.  We can all cry about frivolously spent money together.

Double D – (duh!) damn their chocolate sprinkle donuts and their delicious (sometimes) iced coffee

Unique Thrift – (my fabulous double thrift store that I frequent probably once a week) damn their 25% off days… twice a week! 

Old Navy – damn their fantastic sales.  Though I’ve cut back on this – probably because I don’t love their winter clothes.  But hello summer and hello my old friend!

DSW – dam their clearance section and their $10 certificates!

Nichi Bei Kai – (a local family-owned Japanese steakhouse and sushi bar, where I used to work) damn your Crunchy Spicy Tuna rolls and your hibachi bean sprouts!

Whew, that felt better.  Now that I know that I should own a steak in some of these, I feel better with my purchasing.  And with that, I wish you a happy weekend filled with unnecessary spending!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rocco permalink
    18 June 2010 3:18 pm

    – Target gets about 25% of my annual salary for sure (side note, my boss’s sister [friend’s cousin’s newphew once removed, ha jk] is engaged to a Target family heir, how do i get into THAT family??)
    – And I’d say a good portion goes right back into both the companies I work for (one being a local Irish pub, the other a major international hotel company)
    – Zapata’s, a Mexican place across the street from my apartment (and I’m Spanish so this counts for double, right?)
    – Last but not least, and it pains me to say so, but Micky D’s. As a former-bucks fanatic, I have to say, the new budget-friendly me can’t get enough of those delicious and equally refreshing buckets of flavored iced coffee (for only $2?? say what??)

    To all listed: I expect some very healthy end-of-quarter dividends come the end of the month, recession or not, thank you very much.

  2. 18 June 2010 5:01 pm

    oh my gosh!!! i love nichi bei kai!!!! i’ve only been there once, but i loved it!

Leave a Reply

