Skip to content

Reemergence

7 June 2010

Hello, blog world!

I decided to make an appearance.

Sorry for my absence over the past two weeks or so.  I’ve been totally and completely consumed with our house search.  It’s really quite ridiculous as the plan J and I have had for over a year is to wait until after next tax season to buy.  So basically that equals two solid years of saving.

But the ants are dancing in my pants, and I’m ready NOW.  My dad, a loan officer, recommends we wait, urging us to comprehend that the decreased demand – since the tax credits have ended – will ultimately reduce prices even lower.  And if prices can come down even 5% more, he says, that’s still a hefty $10,000 off a humble $200,000 house.

Yet I’m ready now.  And since J and I are on the hunt for a permahome, not a transitional or “starter” home, we’re okay with taking a small hit in equity over the next few years as we plan to be there for years.  And depending on where we buy, we could even add an addition to expand in that way.

My mind is literally completely occupied by this home search stuff.  If we’re not physically driving through our potential future neighbor, I’m scouring the real estate sites or crunching numbers in my trusty mortgage calculator.  I’ve always been obsessive, but even I recognize that this is getting out of hand.

This weekend was not so good.  Aside from our miserable neighborhood crawl looking for that perfect house, we had to go to a viewing and a funeral.  With the added emotional stress of the funeral and sadness that surrounds that, I was close to what I imagine an anxiety attack to be.  I felt suffocated, like something heavy was sitting on my chest, my breathing was shallow, and my blood felt like it was boiling.  I was irritable, grouchy, and feeling totally out of control of my emotions.  Not cool.

I’m trying to shift my thinking to a process of logic, not emotion.  As in, “We will find a house.  We will not make a poor decision.  We have time to choose wisely.”

We’ve adjusted a few of our parameters a la the advice of Property Virgin’s Sandra Rinomato and friends and family.  We’re trying to lower some of our expectations while maintaining emphasis on those that are truly important to us – a safe outdoor space for the dogs, three or more bedrooms, an established neighborhood, an area that will hopefully go up in value, not down – while tossing out some of the more frivolous, such as 1 acre+, two-car garage (ha, that’s all me!), large deck, Cape Cod.

Adding to the frustration is the realization that unless you have 20% to put down for a conventional loan, you may have to jump through some serious hoops to get a house in our price range – which consists of mostly short sales and foreclosures!  The typical FHA has not been applicable to some of our favorites because of issues found in the functionality of the home.  Can I tell you how annoying that is?

So again, I apologize for not being around!  I will certainly resume full-force once I simmer down a bit.  To end this post on a happy note, I’d like to share one of my {} little things in life {}: being able to have the means (financially as well as emotional support from family) to own my own home if I so wish.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 7 June 2010 2:43 pm

    Don’t worry, Beth. You two are very good, deserving people. A house will happen for both you and the puppies. It will be awesome. And I’m sorry to hear about your loss.

    I’m hoping and wishing for you guys to get some good news soon.

    • 8 June 2010 7:42 am

      Thanks so much for the support! I’m feeling in need of it right now!

Trackbacks

  1. Splice «

Leave a Reply

