Skip to content

Bragging

27 May 2010
tags:

Monday night I was the most productive I’ve been in a long time.

I went to the grocery store after work, never an exciting task, and came home to put away what I’d bought.  In the middle of putting things away, I decided I should probably go through my snacks to discard what was old.  Embarrassingly enough, I found candy from Christmas!

Then I thought – I should dust under the snacks.  Which led to dusting the bookshelf.  Which led to cleaning off the bookshelf.  Which lead to dusting under the parts I’d just cleaned.  You can see where this is going.  I cleaned off a few other surfaces, too, and put those things away while doing a load of laundry.  Then I emptied the trash and swept my bathroom floor.

All of this in an hour!  I was the energizer bunny.  Of course, when J came home, he couldn’t tell I’d cleaned much until I started pointing things out.  But that wasn’t the point!  I feel better knowing those surfaces are clean!  That sounds so silly, but my mental sanity oftentimes relies on cleanliness.

Then I worked on the shop, spent some time with J, made dinner, and finished a custom order.  I did not rest once from 5 until 11, but it felt good to get so much done!

Have you had those days?  And don’t you wonder why ever day you don’t feel that way?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 27 May 2010 10:10 am

    Sounds like a sweet productive night! I remember a few years ago I couldn’t sleep and couldn’t figure out why. So I walked into the kitchen and saw a filthy stove top. So what did I do? I cleaned it and went back to bed. That was at 3AM. Crazy.

    But yes, sometimes I just can’t sit still unless the surfaces are dusted and the floors are cat-hair-tumbleweed free. And my J won’t notice either until I tell him I did this and this and this…

    It’s always good to pat yourself on the back for a job well done, especially when it comes to chores.

  2. 28 May 2010 6:06 am

    I know EXACTLY what you mean. This is going to sound silly, but the reason I tend to put off cleaning little things in my room daily, is because I know it will turn into a big undertaking once my cleaning cycle is turned on which takes up a lot of time. It’s crazy how that happens, but I love having everything clean and organized afterwards! 🙂

  3. 15 June 2010 10:02 pm

    Wow! That IS a productive day! Good for you!!

    I hope you’re having many more! 😀

    Smiles,
    Jenipher

Leave a Reply

