Skip to content

Nah

8 May 2010
tags:

I often struggle with trying to find a nice balance between going out and “experiencing my youth” while also, well, doing what I want.  Because, to be honest, I really don’t like going out much.  I’ve always been a homebody, and the more comfortable I get with my relatively new living arrangements {living with J for the past year or so}, the more I want to stay home home home.

Like, literally.  Stay home.  And I’ll admit, we average two visits to the double D {Dunkin Donuts} a weekend, so it’s not likely we’re totally cooped up.  We also usually enjoy a meal out or go to family’s house for a celebration of sorts.  And I try to see my friends at least once over the weekend.

But dancing?  Nah.  Bar?  No thanks.  Party?  Absolutely not.

Speaking of…. feast your eyes on the cute mailbox and garden belonging to fixer upper #2, which stole my heart this morning, located somewhere near 70.

So here’s to a blissful weekend of doing whatever the heck I want.  Like seeing the new Iron Man 2.  Can’t wait!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 May 2010 4:12 pm

    mmmm double d

  2. 10 May 2010 10:13 am

    Let’s hear it for the long and boring! (http://suburbaliciousliving.blogspot.com/2010/04/long-and-boring.html) and I definitely embrace those terms.

    My best and most favorite weekends are when Josh and I stay in on a Saturday night, pick up some really good, sharp cheese, a log of smokey meat and two bottles of our favorite red. We dive into On Demand and call it a night. Those are our favorite date nights.

    I struggle with similar things. My friends are always going to the newest DC nightclub or some outdoor-booze-fest by DC101, but I don’t find anything appealing about that anymore. They tell me I’m a flake, but honestly I don’t want/need to spend $30 to just get into a club and then more money if I want to drink (even water!).

    I think it’s just our priorities shifting. Plus, we’re still young and feel the need to “act young.” And that’s okay. It’s all about what makes us happy. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a house party or a bar ruckus every now and again, but ultimately… my heart and my bum are happiest on the couch with Josh and the cats.

Leave a Reply

