Skip to content

Sulk Not, Suck Not

28 April 2010

I’m going to be honest.  I’ve been feeling in a bit of a rut recently.  My shop took off last week and then abruptly came to a halt.  No convos.  No custom requests.  No purchases.  One treasury.  Nothing else.

It’s easy to feel bad about yourself and/or your business when things are slow.  I’ve read countless forum threads and small business/entrepreneurial blogs that tell you to refocus when things are slow.  Take better photographs.  Pursue some of those brainstorms.  Expand your supplies, if you have the means to.  Enhance your branding.  Seek out more target markets.  And the list goes on.

{ The Sulky B----rd, co Scruff}

{ The Sulky B----rd, co Scruff}

So I’m making a vow to (a) stop sulking because things are slow and (b) think positively.  I am lucky enough to have a full time job in addition to my lovely shop, so I am not reliant on its success to pay my bills or enjoy some fun time with my family.  I will check my etsy less {read: less than 5 times every waking hour}.  I will focus on improving my photographs, which need it.  I will focus on reaching my 100+-items-in-my-shop goal, hopefully driving more traffic to my site.  I will continue to reach out to blogs that reach my target audiences (women – teenaged, young, and adult).  I will smile instead of sulk.

The world is my business’s oyster.  Now I just have to crack it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 28 April 2010 7:31 pm

    Down feel down! Maybe you can also visit some wedding blogs to see what other crafters are up to? Take a cruise through Once Wed and the other style blogs to see what’s new. Business will pick up, no worries!

    • 29 April 2010 7:09 am

      Funny – I’m not sure I’ve ever visited that blog. You always have good ideas. Thanks!

  2. 30 April 2010 11:36 am

    I know how you feel! My shop has barely taken off..in fact I wouldn’t even say it’s taken off at all. I have only sold to one “stranger”…that stinks. I try to stay upbeat and creating and most of all…HAVE FUN! That is in fact why I have my shop…cause it’s a bunch of fun!!!! So hang in there! You’re doing better than me:) Go cut some fabric and come up with a new piece…that always makes me feel better!

Leave a Reply

