Skip to content

Booth-Happy

21 April 2010

I was just doing some research in the etsy forums on what you should do to prepare for a craft show.  I’m embarassed to admit… that I’m embarassed to admit… that I’m hoping to do a craft show this fall, the one I told you about that’s being thrown by my new etsy team.

I don’t know how to explain it.  I just have such a lame idea of what craft shows are like.  For instance, my mom took me to a “craft” show a few months ago that was being thrown by her hair dresser.  It was more of a vendor show, with people reselling stuff made by companies.  You know, like intimate toys and candles and food and stuff like that.  I just felt really uncomfortable knowing I had no intention of buying anything.  And all the vendors are staring at you.  I. Don’t. Like. It.

{ Buggy and the Dots - 8x10 Photographic Print, BACLORI }

{ Buggy and the Dots - 8x10 Photographic Print, BACLORI }

But I’m hoping my experience as a seller will be a bit different.  After all, an October craft show – right before the holidays – with tons of vendors should be fine, right?  I’m trying to pump myself up. … … I have a lot of pumping to do before October.

Anyway, I tried to do a google image search for craft show booths, to see what’s out there.  To see how I should arrange my items, what’s too much, what’s too little, how fancy I should get, etc.  And my search yielded only one (one!) image that I’d like to share with you:

{ Craft Show Booth, handmadeinpa }

{ Craft Show Booth, handmadeinpa }

I thought I’d make this full size so you could see all the details.

A few things:

{} OBVIOUSLY I will never have this much space, but isn’t it a nice jumping-off point for my own boothification?

{} I love the shutters on the left-side table, holding jewelry.  What a clever idea!  It looks so much better than those mesh things, too.

{} I love the idea of having an open jewelry box on the table to display the jewelry you’re selling. It must make the shoppers feel a bit more grounded, imaging the jewelry you’re selling in their jewelry box at home. This also makes the whole booth seem less boothy and more personal.

{} Ditto on the side-table lamp. Ooooh idea moment.  Wouldn’t it be great to set up your booth like a vanity?  Like even have stools on the customers’ side so they can sit down at a big mirror and play dress-up?  I LOVE that!

{} The bookshelf in the background, fully stocked and primed with lighting, really makes this space.

{} The birdcage on the right acting as another vehicle for displaying the jewelry is awesome, too (or am I seeing that wrong?).

I definitely plan to have (a) a mirror or two, (b) some little framed messages like { Try Me!} for the pieces that will not be sold, and (c) a vintage tablecloth to cover the table, but now I have some new ideas as well.  Like the jewelry box – it would be great for holding my rings, which I wasn’t quite sure how to display.  I think I also want a few of those jewelry stands, like this one, to hold the headbands for people to try on.

{ Bird Spoke Jewelry Stand UrbanOutfitters.com }

{ Bird Spoke Jewelry Stand UrbanOutfitters.com }

 

Whew.  A lot to prepare for.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 21 April 2010 7:14 pm

    I think that’s a great idea! I love the part about the vanity! I think you’ll do great at a craft show! Let me know if I can help in any way 🙂

  2. 21 April 2010 9:34 pm

    Totally going to this craft show! It’ll be so awesome to see your stuff. I can even do a live testimonial and tell people how Mike Money made my bridesmaids and I wonderfully cute!

    (p.s. As long as it’s not like the “vendor show” that one day at work, I’m sure you’ll be fine. Although, if I see a lady selling boxy purses with changeable “shells” I just may have to avoid your booth and buy everything she has! jk)

  3. 26 April 2010 2:42 pm

    Hi! I think you’ll have fun at your craft show in October. I don’t think it will be a “weird, uncomfortable” one because it sounds like it will be a younger, more hip crowd. I have been wanting to do a local farmers market so I went looking for some inspiration too. Can you believe how little there is out there? I did find some good photos from a flickr group related to craft show booths. Here’s the post…

    http://fortandfield.blogspot.com/2009/02/inspiration-friday-craft-show-booths.html

    Maybe it will give you some more ideas.

    Congratulations on your 17 etsy sales! Weekends have been slow for me lately. I think with the nice weather finally here most people are enjoying their time outside. Mondays have been busy, though, as people surf the web instead of actually doing their work and wishing it was still the weekend. LOL. Good luck!

  4. 7 May 2010 8:32 am

    Great ideas!! I sell handmade children’s dress up clothes and I was trying to find some new ideas for displays that are outside the box. I love the idea of mirrors and I was going to have mt sister actually paint a Fairytale land backdrop. I love the bookcase. I wonder how heavy it is?
    The only downside about thinking about displays is how far you have to carry them….LOL:)

    • 7 May 2010 10:56 am

      I love your tutus!

      And yes, absolutely. Carrying is fine when setting up but I feel like at the end of the day, you’re tired and ready to go! The fairytale land backdrop sounds awesome!

      Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

