Skip to content

Frustrating with a dash of Feminine

13 April 2010

This morning I got so mad I was literally shaking.

A woman at work was assigned to clean out our two common fridges on a weekly basis.  Typically Thursdays, after the weekly reminder gets sent out, she sifts through everyone’s FOOD in the fridge and determines what should be thrown out.

I completely forgot that I had two bagels in the fridge, which were living in their grocery wrapping inside of a now-mangled Victoria’s Secret bag {I know – appropriate for work, right?}  However, these bagels have BEEN in the fridge through the last 6 fridge searches and in fact have been in there since the fridge searches started, about two months ago.

Why is it that she just now is uncovering that these bagels are bad?  {Again, I should have remembered them, too, but that’s beside the point.}

What would you do if this were one of your responsibilities at your place of work?  Do your job diligently and pleasantly, or come over to the cubicle of your victim and ream her out in front of her coworkers?

I bet you can guess which method she chose.

I was so angry.  Angry because I felt judged (for my food hygiene, or lack thereof).  Angry because she seemed to be making it personal, like I let my bagels rot to make her life worse off.  Angry because she made a spectacle of a routine task.  Angry because I wanted to say so much more to her but thought I’d keep it professional.

Whew.  Isn’t it funny how sometimes really small things can make you SO angry?

On a lighter note, I recently turned one of my brainstorms into reality, my new wool felt knuckle rings:

{ Handmade Knuckle Ring, Eggplant Wool Felt, milkmoneyshop }

{ Handmade Knuckle Ring, Eggplant Wool Felt, milkmoneyshop }

Feminine with a dash of rock and roll, this knuckle ring would certainly brighten any day.  In fact, I should go make one for myself right now.

Check the shop in the next week to see my other colors!  I hope you like!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 13 April 2010 2:23 pm

    I understand this completely. Trust me.

    Hey, quick question – how many hours would you say that you put toward designing the merch for your Etsy shop? I really want to get mine up and running, and I want to figure out how long the entire process would take – from designing the shop properly (getting a logo) to making enough books to stockpile… I guess I’m just curious how much time and energy you put toward your shop?

  2. 14 April 2010 7:40 am

    Hmmm. Good question. Actually, why don’t I write a post on that today? Thanks for the help!

  3. 16 April 2010 7:04 am

    WHAT ! She made it a point to go to your cube and ream you out?! What a wench.

Leave a Reply

