Skip to content

Fear of Flying

5 April 2010
tags:

Today is the last full day of our vacation in Arizona, and I am absolutely terrified of flying home.  Instead of the usual direct, nonstop flight that I try to book, I had to pick a flight that laid over in St. Louis because of the cost (flying home right after Easter is expensive) and because of the two hour drive from my grandparents’ to the airport.  A 7:30 am flight in Phoenix would mean that we’d have to LEAVE their house at 3:30 am… I don’t think so.

I am absolutely petrified of flying.  Like, to the point that I have to be diagnosed a pill to help me relax.  I think I squeezed J’s hand straight off on the way here; we took off during some rain which didn’t do well for the turbulence and for my fear.

If my dogs become orphans because their parents die on a flight home, that will not be good.  So for some good luck, here are some of my plane finds on etsy {hopefully I’ll talk to you later this week, from my safe, grounded cubicle at work!}:

{ Fighter PLane Boxer briefs, organic, Recession }

{ Fighter PLane Boxer briefs, organic, Recession }

{ paper airplane earrings, friendlygesture }

{ paper airplane earrings, friendlygesture }

{ Paper planes American Apparel, InkOnLint }

{ Paper planes American Apparel, InkOnLint }

{ Paper Planes on Red - Archival Print, rachelaustin }

{ Paper Planes on Red - Archival Print, rachelaustin }

{ Mini Plane Pincushion, lifepieces }

{ Mini Plane Pincushion, lifepieces }

{ The Amelia Earhart Locket, CosmicGirl }

{ The Amelia Earhart Locket, CosmicGirl }

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 5 April 2010 3:23 pm

    i can empathize with what you’re going through since i’ve battled with similar fears. but, with repetition, i was able to program my mind to associate different feelings with the source of my fear. you can do it!

    • 7 April 2010 10:16 am

      Thanks for the support! Luckily we made it home safely – though I did think we were going down a few times. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

