Skip to content

“After You”

26 March 2010

{ I Will Look After You, c.o Meezette }

{ I Will Look After You, c.o Meezette }

I am sad to admit that I am impressed by the courteousness of the men in my building.  In the ten months that I’ve been at my job, probably only twice has a man walked out of/onto the elevator without offering for me to go first.

I studied Women’s Studies in school and certainly consider myself to be a feminist.  That doesn’t mean, though that I can’t appreciate some chivalry.  It’s not as though I demand or expect that these men – well, people – offer for me to go first.  Instead I just think it’s polite.

In fact, sometimes I’ll test them because it amuses me so much.  I wait as long as I can to take a step forward to see what they’ll do?  Is that mean?  Have you experienced such courtesy recently?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

