Skip to content

24 and Ashamed…

19 March 2010
tags:

… to tell you what I watched the other night.

{ Bun In The Oven tshirt, JellyBeanApparel }

{ Bun In The Oven tshirt, JellyBeanApparel }

J and I decided to watch some tv together.  Usually at night, after work, we kind of do our own thing – me, crafting or working on the shop and he, well, crafting.  After a few hours of that, and maybe some things around the house thrown in, we’ll have dinner together, play with the dogs, and then watch one of our favorite tv shows or a movie.  Though let’s face it, usually I’m asleep by 10:30, so there’s not much time for movies!

Well, the other night we were going to watch one of our usuals… House, Big Love, Intervention… when we discovered that 16 and Pregnant was on MTV.  J likes to watch it and then blame it on me when it’s on, all “Why are you WATCHING this?” when he’s the one who chose it.

Can I just say, that is the most depressing show!  Especially when you find an episode where the girl is shockingly mature for a pregnant 16-year-old and the guy she’s with and/or impregnated her {I don’t like this choice of words, as it sounds like it happened to her as opposed to her being a willing participant – since MTV never features rape victims on this particular show – but I digress} is the biggest douche bag ever.  I mean EVER.

Is it wrong to say that that’s the entertaining part of the show?  Because it’s like a train wreck.  You don’t want to watch but can’t help it.  And then I remember that these are real lives.  Scary and sad all at the same time.

Am I the only guilty one or do you too waste your time watching others’ lives deteriorate?  Hopefully all of the girls on those shows are happier after filming, though, because they have a little baby.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 24 March 2010 4:26 pm

    Well…make me 28 and ashamed. I love that show. My BF makes me feel so guilty for watching it..I can’t NOT watch it though. I don’t know what it is either…so entertaining! Love your blog!

  2. Katie permalink
    1 April 2010 11:40 am

    I must say that I love that show too. I never catch when it actually airs so I wait till the new episodes are ON Demand. I feel bad for the girls and for their babies, however they chose to put their lives and pregnancies on TV so I don’t feel bad about watching it. By the way my husband watches it too and always reminds me of the characters (I guess that’s what you call them) names when I forget : )

  3. 16 April 2010 7:27 am

    Gulity. We love that show. I’ll catch up with On Demand whenever possible. (That and Degrassi…. I swear I’m 26.) Josh blames me for getting him into trashy reality- Celebrity Rehab, Rock of Love, etc. I also got him hooked on Ru Paul’s Drag Race. Not trasy, though. Just fabulous!

Leave a Reply

