Skip to content

The Mustard Shoppe

11 February 2010
{ mustard shoes }

{ mustard shoes }

These are my favorite shoes.  Ever.  For a while there I went on a ban against heels, vowing to myself to switch over all my shoes to flats.  I can barely walk in heels, despite practice, and they’re SO uncomfortable.  While I was sad because there are so many pretty heels out there, I had never been much of a shoe person and was committed to my comfort enough to make the sacrifice.

Then it occurred to me – I’d been wearing the wrong size shoe my whole life!  I don’t remember how it came about, but I realized that I was wearing shoes a half size too big.  Of course, some brands vary, which will always be the case, but now if I try on a 6.5 instead of a 7, the shoe is miraculously much more comfortable!

And I found a favorite heel brand, Bandolino.  There’re seriously the best.  Especially because I like simple, low pumps, and that’s mostly what they have.  I urge you to check them out if you haven’t already.  They have stores but you can also find their shoes at DSW (love love love it now that I’ve figured out my correct shoe size!).

Back to the shoes.  They’re a beautiful mustard color.  I was looking for some this color last spring when I was looking for shoes to match my graduation dress.  I didn’t think I’d find any, especially because I was looking in only the clearance section of DSW.  When these caught my eye, my first reaction was that they were hideous.  Plus, I usually shy away from round toes and go for the more brutal pointed toe.  But once I slipped them on I knew I had to have them!  Now I find myself designing outfits around these shoes (which is what you should do, right?)!

{ mustard shoes }

{ mustard shoes }

{ mustard shoes }

{ mustard shoes }

These shoes have inspired me to start a new etsy shop (ha, I haven’t even opened milk money!) called The Mustard Shoppe.  Maybe vintage finds?  Obviously it wouldn’t be for A WHILE until I see what etsy selling is really all about, but it excites me just to think about it.  What do you think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

