Skip to content

Blog Soulmates

28 January 2010

How do you guys come across new blogs?  Have you noticed that the blog world is kind of like high school – with cliques and groups of friends?

It totally reminds me of that scene from Mean Girls where there’s a map of the high school cafeteria tables and labels for which cliques sit at which table.

{ Mean Girls cafeteria, www.movieweb.com }

{ Mean Girls cafeteria, http://www.movieweb.com }

Anyway, I haven’t quite found my nook.  There are the craft blogs, the DIY blogs, the photography blogs, the giveaways blogs, the life story blogs, the style blogs, and the list goes on.  I’m just not sure where I fit – or if I even need to.

How did you decide what you were going to cover in your blog?  And how successful have you been at making blog friends and finding your blog soulmates?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 31 January 2010 9:28 pm

    great entry. i consider my blog to be fairly autonomous, though i agree with you completely in that cliques exist. i don’t think you need to make an effort to fit in except to be yourself, really. like-minds will eventually find each other and surely, i’m happy to have found you here.

  2. 3 February 2010 9:14 pm

    Oh no, i had no idea there were cliques…
    but i suppose if you fit them in to those categories, yes i do suppose that is senseful.
    In the case of that… i’m not quite sure if i want to nor have i been able to place myself anywhere. I believe it is a free for all. Anyhow, i agree with Katrina, autonomous… & i love Katrinas blog.

    … thats how i found you! Congrats btw!

  3. 24 March 2010 4:34 pm

    I had no idea about the cliques either…but I guess crafty people like other crafty people and people into art like people that are into art and so on and so on…Can’t we all just get along? 🙂

  4. 9 May 2010 7:25 pm

    I definitely notice it. My, I mean OUR, blog is geared more towards our wedding. So we’re already lumped into that “genre.” For the most part EVERYONE is super supported. However, there are some “high and mighty” sorts that will just get nasty in a comment or be super harsh in a post. I don’t think there’s room for that.

    I’ve found so many wonderful blogs by great writers, great people, with great content. I always get excited to catch a bride with cats blog, too. I never started to read comments until I started blogging. When I catch a comment that inspires me, I usually go to that persons Internet space and stalk them fo life.

Leave a Reply

