Skip to content

Five More Minutiae

21 January 2010

Am I alone in this, or do you all get bogged down in the minutiae of starting a new business?  I guess I really shouldn’t call it minutiae because it’s all – branding… business cards, coupons, banners, logos – important, but geez.  I really do feel like I’m tying myself up with the devil Photoshop just to put off opening my store.

I know I talk about how excited I am and how anticipatory I feel about opening, but a big part of me fears failing.  That same part has come up with a lot of ways to put it off.  Like… well, I should really go home and work on that business card some more before I order it.  Or, the boxes I wanted to order no longer fit the earring card I’ve chosen, so now I’ll have to find new boxes, which will require new bubble mailers, so I’m still a while from opening.  Yikes!

Really, if I wanted, I could probably be up and running in three weeks.  Will that happen?  Probably not.  And it’s not that I’m a procrastinator so much as that I’m a perfectionist.  I need everything to. be. perfect.  Everything.

How long did you wait before you started your etsy shop?  Did you do all your branding in advance or just dive right in?  Did you have a “plan”?  I’d love to hear.

Enough about that.  Here are some of my favorite products for marketing your shop, from etsy sellers {if I had gobs of money, I’d use every one of these!}:

{ three vintage ribbon GIFT TAGS, mrrabbitsir }

{ three vintage ribbon GIFT TAGS, mrrabbitsir }

{ Peacock Custom Die Cut Jewelry Cards, NightingalePrint }

{ Peacock Custom Die Cut Jewelry Cards, NightingalePrint }

{ thank you favor with button, TagsOnBags }

{ thank you favor with button, TagsOnBags }

{ milkmoneyshop custom stamps, drumchick99 }

{ milkmoneyshop custom stamps, drumchick99 }

How cute would this be to store all your little marketing tags?

{ treasures in the attic jewelry box, sisterbutterfly }

{ treasures in the attic jewelry box, sisterbutterfly }

And wouldn’t these be so cute for stringing up some items to display at a craft fair?  They’re from a shop called 5dollarfrenchmarket.  Evverything is $5.  Pretty sweet, huh?

{ Parisian Clothespins with Twine, 5dollarfrenchmarket }

{ Parisian Clothespins with Twine, 5dollarfrenchmarket }

I worry I like the marketing materials more than the product sometimes!  But who can resist beautiful packaging and storage?  Certainly not me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 21 January 2010 10:51 am

    i can identify with everything you’ve written here. after years of dreaming of my own shop, i only chose to do so last October. It took me 3 months to get up and running because of these packaging/marketing/style decisions and dilemmas you’ve described. i finally started by putting up 3 items. then i added more the following week and so forth.

    thanks for adding my ribbons gift tags to your favorite products! 😀

    i can’t wait to see your shop. the anticipation is building!!

Trackbacks

  1. Muchas Gracias
  2. Stamp the Yard « milk money

Leave a Reply

