Skip to content

Shhh… don’t tell…

20 January 2010

I have a secret.

{ shhh door hanger, CKcollectables }

{ shhh door hanger, CKcollectables }

I haven’t told any of my family or friends the address to this blog.  None.

I don’t know if it’s that I don’t want them to read my writing or what.  It’s not like I don’t talk to them about all the things that I talk to you guys about.  I guess I’m just not ready.  I want to have something to SHOW before I reveal it, I guess.  Reveal what, I don’t know exactly…  Maybe my shop being open?

Have you gotten nervous about showing your blog to family or friends?  What about your etsy shop?

I know that one of the biggest things I read about promoting your shop is believing in your work, standing behind it, thinking it’s great.  I do think my work is great – it’s just that I’m not sure everyone else will!  It’s that old self-doubt that always creeps in.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 20 January 2010 11:04 am

    i know how you feel! i started my blog in 2007 and at the time, i was still in college. i studied computer science, did very well in all my classes and didn’t feel my peers would understand a style blog. to make a long story short: only my husband knows about my rich Internet life.

    i’m not at all saying that you should never share about your blog/etsy with your family. what i am saying is, even if you’re silent about it, you can still thrive online. i learned that there are many ways to promote yourself online without having to utter a word about it in your real life. 🙂

  2. 5 February 2010 2:03 pm

    I totally have not told anyone about my blog, either! I’m kinda of a private person, in real life. I don’t really like to show my emotions to people much. I guess it just feels like writing is such a personal thing, throwing your thoughts out there, and I don’t want people that know me to be inside of my head like that. Maybe? Eh, anyways, I’m right there with you!

    Can’t wait to see your shop when it opens 🙂

Leave a Reply

