Skip to content

Thrifting My Life Away

15 January 2010
tags:

 

{ caramel brown carry-on, vintageluggage }

{ caramel brown carry-on, vintageluggage }

Have you guys read Heart of Light’s post on shopping at the thrift store?  She says that most of the time she leaves with nothing but that it helps to go regularly and keep your eyes opened for some good finds.

I’m pretty sure I have the exact opposite problem.  I usually go in telling myself I won’t by anything, I won’t buy anything, and then what happens?  … I leave with a bunch of stuff I don’t need.  I can’t tell you how many times I have gotten home and thought, why did I just buy that?

So I’ve tried to get at least a little more disciplined.  I rarely go now with nothing in mind.  Having a focus always helps.  I went last week, for instance, looking for some storage solutions since I get all spring-cleany right after Christmas (even though it’s far from Spring).  I happened to browse through the dress section and find two I liked, but I consider those bonuses because I absolutely will use those.  In fact, I already wore one yesterday to work.

Anyway, I found a set of drawers that will go wonderfully on my new sewing table {a before and after shot of my craft room to come soon!} and a little decorative metal bucket thing which I’ll use as a catchall next to my electronics valet (J’s wallet and watch are always crowding my phone!).

Of course, however, BOTH of these items need some work (my first and second and third DIY posts to come as soon as I finish them!).  But I said, bring it on.  I like the idea of being able to tailor these items to fit my wants.

I’m still deciding on a paint color for some of these projects.  What do you think of these?

{ Rookwood Amber, Sherwin Williams }

{ Rookwood Amber, Sherwin Williams }

{ Darkroom, Sherwin Williams }

{ Darkroom, Sherwin Williams }

PS: I really hate it when blogs “promise” posts, like *to come soon!  I’m going to try to avoid doing that, but this post called for it!  And those DIY Delights, as I’m calling them, really will come soon.  Check the DIY Delights widget on the sidebar (also coming soon, ha!) for my DIY projects.

Before I leave you, here’s some vintage eye candy from a few sellers on etsy.  Oh if only money grew on trees.

{ Vintage Fire King Primrose 8 inch Shallow Round Casserole, BlueHouseVintage }

{ Vintage Fire King Primrose 8 inch Shallow Round Casserole, BlueHouseVintage }

{ Vintage pleat polka dot leaf, kitbits }

{ Vintage pleat polka dot leaf, kitbits }

{ Fabulous Vintage 14k gold Vermeil and Austrian Crystal Multicolor Earrings, VintageArtJewelry }

{ Fabulous Vintage 14k gold Vermeil and Austrian Crystal Multicolor Earrings, VintageArtJewelry }

{ Loire Valley Settee, ReclaimTheThrone }

{ Loire Valley Settee, ReclaimTheThrone }

What are your favorite vintage pieces?

One Comment leave one →
  1. 15 January 2010 8:43 pm

    oh, i’ve gone to thrift stores many a time and purchased thing i didn’t need. it really is difficult not to give into the “it’s so cheap” mentality.

    for your project colors, i vote for darkroom — i’m a great fan of chocolate brown!

    that vintage casserole is so pretty. thanks for sharing these pretty pics. 😀

Leave a Reply

