Skip to content

It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like… Christmas

13 January 2010
{ Birch Trees in Winter, singlestonestudios }
{ Birch Trees in Winter, singlestonestudios }

Am I the only one who is already planning next year’s (this year’s, really) holiday gifts?  My boyfriend, J, thinks I’m totally crazy.  I like to keep this insane spreadsheet (holler at the Excel!) that gets more complex every year.  It tracks my gift ideas, gift purchases, what I’ve received in the mail, and even what I’ve wrapped!  It’s also helpful because I can see how close I am to reaching my budget for each recipient, and I can look back at past years (as separate tabs) to ensure that I’m not giving the same gifts on repeat (not that I’d really forget that).

I was getting ready to forget about my Christmas list document until next, oh let’s be honest here, July or so, but then I thought, wait, why?  I can start to build it back up now.  I already have a great idea for J for 2010, and I’ve already bought a few small things for my mom and step-mom, so I’ve logged those as well.

Plus, the homemade thank-you cards that J and I made and gave to our families were such a success this year that I’ve already purchased the supplies for next year.  So I added those to the list.  {Tutorial for these coming soon!}  Wanna see the stamps I ordered from etsy seller sugarskull7?

{ fancy dress hand carved rubber stamp, sugarskull7 }

{ fancy dress hand carved rubber stamp, sugarskull7 }

{ cherry blossom hand carved stamp set, sugarskull7 }

{ cherry blossom hand carved stamp set, sugarskull7 }

I can’t wait to get to stamping!  I’ve been watching the mail like a hawk.  I never thought I’d be a crazy scrapbook stamper, but I can’t wait to adorn my little thank you cards with these stamps.  So cute!  {And of course I found this stamp carver from reading Heart of Light!}

But back to the list.  The list also helps to keep me on track in terms of my crafting, as I have designations for what gifts need to be handmade versus what can be purchased at the store – or, better yet, online.

But I thought I’d post a few tutorials I’ve found recently that would make great gifts.  Maybe these will help you before the next holiday season as most of them would make great birthday gifts as well!  Enjoy!

{ Wallet tutorial, Sew Do I }

{ Wallet tutorial, Sew Do I }

 

Wallet tutorial, Sew Do I via Grosgrain

Feather headband, Still Dottie

Healthy Homemade Dog Shampoo, http://www.care2.com

Salt and Pepper Shakers {revamped}, Heart of Light

Advent Calendar, Allsorts

{ Salt and Pepper Shakers {revamped}, Heart of Light }

{ Salt and Pepper Shakers {revamped}, Heart of Light }

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Nest This «

Leave a Reply

