Skip to content

Entrepreneughhhrship

4 January 2010
This weekend at dinner, my boyfriend, J, gave me a pep talk about starting my business.  He said he’s going to push me until I really do it.  Until I take the plunge, buy business cards, post things to etsy, and (hopefully!) make my first sale.  He has faith in me and wants to see me reach my goals.  So supportive, right?  Now I just have to DO it.

  

Sometimes I feel like I’m going to let people down just because I’ve succeeded at most things I’ve hoped to accomplish.  I got in to my graduate school of choice right out of school and was able to study what I wanted.  I got tuition remission and a salary.  I even got a job once I was done.  Not a GREAT job but a job nonetheless.  So now when I want to start my own business, why am I freaking out?  I guess because the business is creative, not intellectual.  If someone doesn’t like my work, I’m going to take it personally.  People – plural – will be judging my work, not just one professor.  And they’ll be judging it on taste, not on its validity in a scholastic environment.  All that sounds so intimidating.  Yikes! 

On the other hand, my uterus does swell with pride at the mere idea of owning my own business.  A female entrepreneur?  That’s pretty badass if you ask me.  And while I joke about dreaming of being a stay-at-home wife, I cannot quickly forget all those years of Women’s Studies which taught me to value supporting myself.  Doubtful that my little earbuds will earn me enough to support myself, but maybe they’d bring in some nice spending money for my new favorite store, modcloth.  Here are some of the droolworthy things I found this morning: 

{ one way ticket coat, modcloth }

{ one way ticket coat, modcloth }

 

{ Cirque du Sole-leil Heels, modcloth }

{ Cirque du Sole-leil Heels, modcloth }

{ rainbow dress, modcloth }

{ rainbow dress, modcloth }

 

  

  

I found that site through one of my FAVORITE blogs, Grosgrain, and then my coworker started to talk about a coat she got there, and I just fell in love with it.  Too bad I can’t afford anything there!    

Grosgrain, by the way, is this really awesome blog run by a stay-at-home mother who creates all sorts of things, gives away clothes made by herself and others, features other crafters and their wares, and even writes and links to tutorials.  It’s great.  Don’t you just love this maternity dress she MADE (she’s 8 months pregnant):    

{ maternity dress, grosgrain }

{ maternity dress, grosgrain }

 And if you link to her blog and/or comment on her posts, you get entered to win her designs!  Though I’m not pregnant, I love this dress too much not to enter!  Here’s the link:    

The Milk and Honey Maternity Frock GROSGRAIN GIVEAWAY!!!!    

But back to the business talk!  I am currently working on designing my own business cards (yikes! this project has become much more difficult to manage than I thought!), getting custom stamps made for my gift boxes, drafting descriptions of my items for my etsy shop, and buying my shipping and packaging materials.  Not to mention actually making the items I hope to sell.  That’s the fun part, though, so I’m trying to put that off until I have everything else in order.

That’s a lot of stuff considering that each of those things has many components that need to be finalized.  But that’s what I’m happy to blog about – my journey toward my first sale!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 14 January 2010 5:47 pm

    Hi there,

    Well, I like your post here, and wanted to wish you luck with your Etsy shop. I opened my own about six weeks ago, and had (and still have) so many of the same feelings and excitements.

    And I wanted to comment because I, too, left an “intellectual” job working for a nonprofit to begin my business. So far, it’s the best decision I’ve made in a long time. So, believe in yourself and don’t give up. It’s been a whirlwind for me and continues to be. But what a great experience.

    Best wishes…

    Barbara B.
    http://www.bluekimonostudio.com
    http://www.thebluekimono.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

